Events

Rescuing & Refurbishing TBMs

With Detlef Jordan, Barrie Willis

Date: November 21, 2019
Time: 7 AM PDT/10 AM EDT/3 PM GMT
Duration: 40 minutes

TBM maintenance: it’s one of the most important factors predicting project success, but it is often treated with less importance than it deserves.  Experience shows, however, that maintenance plays just as much a part in the excavation rates as the proper TBM design. Regular maintenance can keep future rebuild costs low and keep equipment efficiency high while maximizing advance rates.  Conversely, a lack of maintenance, improper operation, and/or severe ground conditions can result in undue wear and slow advance rates. In a worst-case scenario, it can even require rescuing and refurbishing of a TBM.

In this 40-minute complimentary webinar, Robbins Sales Manager Europe Detlef Jordan and iPS Tunnel Manager Barrie Willis will discuss case studies of both optimal and suboptimal maintenance and operation of TBMs.  Suboptimal examples will be discussed where TBM maintenance was insufficient and required rescuing of the machine once it became stuck or immobile.  Optimal case studies will form a guideline for recommended machine maintenance to prevent the substantial damage that can occur.  Rebuild strategies for recovered TBMs in various adverse conditions will also be discussed. Submit your questions in advance to webinars@robbinstbm.com to get a thoughtful, well-researched answer during the Q&A session.

 

Register Here

Presenters

Detlef Jordan

Sales Manager - TBM

Barrie Willis

Tunnel Manager